Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Do U agree 11

Status
Not open for further replies.

rjh03

Civil/Environmental
Mar 29, 2001
LB
Hi,
I once read : "An engineer is one who can do for one dollar what any fool can do for two". To say the truth I am very much impressed with this statement and most of the times it seems valid to me. Do U agree with it, or do U think that it somehow contradicts the engineering ethics???

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

That is a very interesting statement, one that I find myself over-analyzing as I write this response.

First of all, no fool can do what an engineer can do, but a person with common sense and some experience can. Then again, I am the biggest fool I know and I'm an engineer.

Second, it seems that the title of engineer is given to anybody that a corporation feels fit to assign. So, what exactly is an engineer these days?

Finally, an engineer is always looking for ways to cut costs of a product while increasing value. So, I don't think that the phrase is against engineering ethics in that manner. Consider that the way we usually cut costs is by developing machines, processes, or other devices that take away jobs from people with families to support, that may be an ethical issue to some.

In summary, the phrase has some truth to it and I don't think it contradicts engineering ethics. I am a little insulted that I can only cut the costs in half of any fool, though.

--Scott

In Canada the title engineer is protected. You can only call yourself an engineer if you are in fact a professional engineer. (Train operators can call themselves locomotive engineers and boiler operators can call themselves power engineers, otherwise the title is protected by law in Canada.