Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Electric Car Conversion 14

Status
Not open for further replies.

MiketheEngineer

Structural
Sep 7, 2005
US
With the price of gasoline approaching $4.00 / gallon I am seriously considering converting and old car (VW maybe) into a an electric vehicle to drive back & forth to work, store, pharmacy, etc - maximum of about 50 miles per day.
I am a decent mechanic and know enough about electricity not to kill myself - so this seems a reasonable project.

Has anybody tried this and/or what insights do you have.. Yes - I have found a TON of Net info - but not sure who is telling the truth. One book says you can do it for $300 - that I seriously doubt. But the neighborhood of $3,000 to $4,000 seems doable??

Thanks for any insights or paths to pursue...

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

If your goal is truly to save money, get a bicycle. If you want the challenge (frustration) of creating a usable electrical vehicle, go right ahead. Just let us know when you are on the highway so we can take another route.

Consider that a typical hybrid runs about $30k+, and that's with some level of economy of scale, while a typical sedan of a similar class runs about $20k, you're looking at a $10k+ premium for the modifications. And that's with existing designs, and cheap factory labor.

TTFN

FAQ731-376
Chinese prisoner wins Nobel Peace Prize

Thirty-five-ish years ago, a guy who worked for my Dad converted a VW bug to all-electric drive, and used it for commuting, maybe 40 miles a day, for a while.