Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Electromechanical tasks

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mechanical
Jul 29, 2005
HN
Hello everybody:

I am a Mechanical Engineer and my professional experience has been around the hydropower and thermal plants (Diesel engines) generation.
In both fields I have been working from the stage of erection/installation of the mechanical systems and generating equipments, up to the commercial operation of these power plants in charge of maintenance activities.

But, for these days, I am working in the tendering process for the construction of a small hydropower plant. My boss is asking me to lend a hand in reviewing the electrical part of the procurement. Even when I know in a general manner the roll of the electrical branch in the power generation, I respectfully have said to him that I am not capable to give that kind of support to the company, because that is not of my professional competence.

He appears to be deaf and insists in that subject.
About my assumed position, any comments? Thanks.

El que no puede andar, se sienta.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

"... lend a hand ..." does not mean that you will be instantly responsible for everything.
It means that you review the paperwork, with the primary objective of just seeing if there are any glaring >mechanical< errors reflected in the >electrical< part of the documents.

While you are at it, ask questions as they occur to you.

Your boss is trying to _expand_ your professional competence.
Take advantage of the opportunity.

Mike Halloran
Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

This is how we learn other aspects of engineering -- never EVER say no. Dig into it. Get books. get on the Internet - ask your co-workers.

Saying NO is a quick way out the door.

Like I tell my guys - you say you can't do it - I WILL find someone who can!!