Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Emergency relief: flare vs. atmospheric release

Status
Not open for further replies.

BlackSmoke

Chemical
Dec 27, 2008
US
I've gotten a new job in the wastewater industry and I've found that another engineer has specified relief valves that relieve sour methane gas to the atmosphere. The relief load is relatively small but the valve does not have a stack or anything to discharge it at a safe location, just a little rain cover.

I'm from the petrochemical industry and this seems very strange, as we're planning to install a process flare on-site already. I'm a younger engineer, but I have heard that this kind of atmospheric used to be a common practice in the past, even for toxic chemicals. Furthermore, in my reading of NFPA 820 for wastewater plants, mention is made of relief valves that discharge directly to atmosphere as a basis for the hazardous classification of certain equipment.

My question is: is there a standard governing when a combustible (or borderline combustible) gas can be discharged to the atmosphere during emergency reliefs, and is it industry specific? (i.e. API 520 & 521 might be overkill for the wastewater industry) I believe that the gas should be flared and will design it as such no matter what. However, it would help if I can point to a specific standard to justify the increased costs to the bean counters. Thanks for any guidance you can provide.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It's not so much Codes or Standards that will provide the acid test with respect to guidance on this topic as it is the Regulatory Authority. If you have a continuously lit flare on site, I would suspect it would be difficult o explain to a Regulatory Authority why you choose to discharge a sour service relief valve to atmosphere. The idea probably wouldn't fly.

Sorry, BlackSmoke...