Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Engineer + MBA 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Trackfiend

Civil/Environmental
Jan 10, 2008
US
I am fairly new to this forum and hopefully I can glean some wisdom and helpful advice from some of you who have been in the "game" for a while. I am a new engineer having just graduated over a year ago. I have been working as an EI at a midsize firm (350-400 employees) since my graduation. Upon my graduation I immediately enrolled in the Engineering Management/MBA graduate program at my local university. The engineering management masters is obtained by completing 33 hours of coursework, after which I can continue in the program and obtain my MBA by completing an additional 7 more "core" classes for the MBA.

I love my job (90% design) and feel that I am learning a lot due to the constructive environment of my workplace. I still have a few years until I can take the PE exam and realize that there is still a lot left to learn (I can't seem to stress that enough). I also feel that in 5-10 years I may not want to do design anymore and may want to try other challenges (I know, be careful what you wish for...). My question is, is there anyone who has obtained their MBA, transitioned into another field non-design related (management, construction, non-engineering, ect), and never looked back? Are you happy that you made that decision.

I realize that any type of continued education is helpful and applicable, but I want to make sure that I am getting the most bang for my educational buck. A lot of my peers are going the technical route (Master's of Science) and I seem to be the lone duck. Any opinions, constructive or otherwise, would be greatly appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you