Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

engineering jobs in US - survey 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

chemeng421

Chemical
Apr 11, 2007
US
I am a chemical engineer, and while I enjoy the field I have to admit that I have disliked the majority of locations I have worked in. I recently found a job I really like in a location I love. The problem is, like every job in the engineering field in the US these days, it is not secure. I want to stay in this location, so I don't have to go back to working in a refinery in Oklahoma, because I hated it so much. I hated everything about that job, the location, the work environment. I never want to go back to that again.

I want to get an assessment from other engineers in the field, particularly mechanical and chemical, where have you worked that you hated the most? What jobs have you hated the most? And why?

How do you avoid not having to move out of a location you love? Every one of my former colleagues is trying to suck me back into the lifestyle of moving from one crappy place to another, working night shifts, for not much more pay than what I am getting now. I hate working like that, even if that is where the jobs are, to the point that it is not worth it even for the challenge and the money. Now that I have a family in the location I live in, I really don't want to uproot them. I hated living in Oklahoma, Texas, Illinois, New Jersey and Georgia and I know that it isn't for them either. No offense to those who live there, but it really wasn't for me. Now it seems like all the jobs are going there, and I don't want to go with them. Should I just change careers? I hate the idea of moving back to the south or midwest in particular.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you