ENGINEERING RESPONSIBILITY 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

Struct-007

Structural
Aug 7, 2020
CA
Hi,

I am a new structural engineer in a design office. I am assigned design tasks where I prepare calculations and drawings of structural members (I am not a PE).

The senior engineer (PE who I directly report to but he does not stamp drawings) does not ask me for calculations if I do not provide them to him. However, he talks to me about what to be done and sees the calculations on my screen.

The head of the structural department talks to the senior engineer and stamps the drawings.

My question is, who is responsible if any failure happens due to mistakes in calculations? Is there a reference in the Building Code or anywhere else about such a situation?

Thanks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I don't know about a reference but I vote for the stamping engineer being responsible as well as the firm as a whole if QC practices are found to be lacking. I'll not put on airs though, the process that you've described sounds pretty typical to me. I've occupied all three of roles that you described. Personally I'd like to see your supervisor stamp the drawings as he's surely the best option for someone who:

a) Has a stamp to use and;

b) Genuinely understands the work in a meaningful way.

There must be some nuance of insurance or process that makes that not universally the case. Hopefully someone else can elaborate upon that.

I would suggest the head of the structural dept...

Rather than think climate change and the corona virus as science, think of it as the wrath of God. Feel any better?

-Dik

In terms of individual responsibility and accountability, it will be the engineer of record - the engineer who affixes his/her seal to the drawing/calc package/other deliverable.