Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Evaporator coil tubes collapsing in large freezer 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

jpwood0518

Mechanical
Jan 15, 2009
US
Hope someone can help me. I am an engineer at a plant that manufactures food flavorings. Our large inside freezer 3000 sq ft, uses two evap coils 3' x 12' by 2' thick. They were installed in 1999. The coil has failed many of the copper tubes have collapsed. The maunfactur Coil Company Inc has never heard of this nor have the repair folks. Looking for reasons for failure, it is not ice builup the tubes have collapsed as if from vacuum, they have not been smashed.Maybe someone cam give me some insight. The coils are model DX58-H6-14389-SCA-R. Thanks John.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

If the defrost cycle is not adequate it can cause partially melted ice on the coils to refreeze collapsing tubes/distorting fins,etc..
What is the temperature of the room in which the evaporator is located?

Sounds like electric defrost and maybe the termination sensor is not working when the evaporator comes up to temp and the time clock is still energizing the heaters.

Seen this quite a few times...On DX coils and particularly where there is residual lubricant in the evaporator during defrost. Refrigerant evaporates, lube left behind, drainage from upper tube & fins hits cold oil and air near bottom, part of it wraps around bottom tubes, forms its own hard cylinder...Next defrost: water formed at warm portion, refreezes during refrigeration, expands...Usually at low point of tube where oil resides and water runs; low point originally caused by removing ice mechanically though may simply be consequence of icicles and action of Stalagmites and Stalagtites as ice bridges to pan. If you cut the ice out thats wrapped around the tube: it will have rings like a tree; and they will be eccentric and distorted like a stunted tree.