Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Factor of Safety/ Margin of Safety 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lee.Conti

Automotive
Nov 8, 2019
SG
Hi All,

I am new to automotive and would like to know what standard is usually used when checking strength? Is it using factor of safety or margin of safety? Sometimes people confuse with safety factor with factor of safety...

If it is not a structural part and it is more concerned of quality check, do we still use factory of safety/ margin of safety when checking whether max stress exceeds allowable strength? Thank you!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi MintJulep, the loading is pretty clear. Can you explain further?

In other experience, we used MoS/ FoS but those parts are structural parts which safety concern. But now the parts I am dealing with are all non-structural parts. However, we still check if the mounting fail or any failure happens under different load cases for quality purpose... so, wondering if using FoS is appropriate or it is subject to company policy?

If you know the loads with 100% certainty and you know the weakest possible way that any part in the population will be manufactured then you can design to that without any factor of safety.

It's pretty impossible to know either of those two things.

Factory of safety is proportional to your uncertainty.

Hi MintJulep,

I think that is not the factor I am mentioned but it does confuse sometime. I was checking the ratio of allowable to max stress. Some people use Margin of Safety and some people use Factor of Safety...