Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

FEM Analysis of Pipe Support

Status
Not open for further replies.

nikolastrojman

Industrial
Jul 17, 2007
AT
Hi

I'm rather new to world of FEM, that's why I would like to ask someone experienced enough to help me with my problem. I'm trying to run static analysis of pipe support (see attachment) in Solidworks Simulation but I have doubts on how to setup the model, the boundary conditions i.e. fixtures and the how to transfer the load from pipe to pipe support. For ease of modelling this problem let's assume that this support is an anchor.

Any help is appreciated.

http://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=09935ac5-39e6-4af8-be50-7318d2351f94&file=Lisega_Clamp.pdf
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You don't have to model pipe itself if you need only stress and displacement in support. You can replace it with proper load. Also bolted joints can be modeled with special boundary conditions. No need to use their geometry. Of course you also need to fix the bottom of that support. But if you still want to use pipe geometry too then you need to model contact between those two parts.

Hi @klaus

If you know how to do this by hand, please share this information with us, I'm alway eager to learn something new.

Hi @gravityandinertia

I'm trying to calculate allowable loads for pipe support.

A pipe stress analysis (thermal flexibility analysis) will predict stresses in piping and loads on equipment leading to predictable thermal gradients, thermal transients, physical weights, pressure, and bolt-up strain.
This in-depth engineering simulation analysis is typically needed for piping that experiences high-temperature fluctuations, or for extremely long pipe runs such as hot piping to coolers or headers.