Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Field Engineer - Online MSME?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ppnewgrad

Mechanical
Sep 1, 2018
US
I'm looking for a sanity check here. Anyone have any thoughts on online MSME degrees and their worth?

I'm a recent BSME grad field engineer working in construction as a field engineer - mainly piping operations on large power facilities. I can't seem to get this idea out of my head that 5 years of field experience in concert with a MSME would 'propel' my career forward. That said, I don't really have much desire to do much design - I loathe cubes. If anything, I have always envisioned myself in an ops management role. Whether that was in my coops in manufacturing, internships in powerhouses, and now in construction.

My employer will pay for most of my masters. I guess I'm unsure about pursuing due to long hours in the field in combination with graduate classes online would mean for not much time off, and essentially continuing the grind that engineering school was. That said, I am willing to sacrifice for the next few years if the tradeoff is worthwhile (we're essentially talking about giving up the rest of my twenties).

Any thoughts on the usefulness of a MSME for career trajectory while working in a more ops focused role? I am interested in pursuing an MBA later as well, but I am afraid that I would under utilize the education at this point in my career.

I appreciate any musings of you senior folks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you