find and open file

Status
Not open for further replies.

aftr9

Mechanical
Mar 29, 2007
US
Hello,

I am trying to create a program that lets me input my file name and it searches a directory and opens that file.

Our current drawing management system consists of our drawings being put in subdirectories based on their name. For example '3-15344.dwg' would be in the k:\\...\dwg\3\15 directory and '101-12153.dwg' would be in k:\\...\dwg\1\101\12 directory. It is very time consuming to have to navigate the subdirectories to open a drawing I need right now.

My intent is to stop having to go through the subdirectory maze every time I want to open a drawing.

I want to be able to type in the drawing number, click a button, and have the drawing open.

I am new to visual basic and have done a few of the tutorials I have found online but don't know enough to make it do what I need it to do.

Can someone please point me in the right direction? I am using Visual Basic 2008 Express Edition on Windows XP Pro 32bit.

Your help is very much appreciated.

Thanks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Make a database of a list of all drawings and thier corresponding subdirectory locations, such as

"E-100845623R1A", "F:\MyProject\Drawings\Electrical\"

That substitutes the simple work of just maintaining a very simple database for all the code and recursion work, not to mention the immense time wasting that would go along with searching the entire system for each and every drawing request.

Enter the drawing number, you get the location in 0.5 ms, then shell out to open the drawing.

"The problem isn't finding the solution, its trying to get to the real question." BigInch

I did something like this a couple of years ago and found that just having the code search run through the files on the server until it found it was fast enough for our purposes.