Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Finding out what the customer REALLY wants 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

aspearin1

Chemical
Nov 5, 2002
US
I'm involved with a project where one of the common (mis)conceptions is that the customer "doesn't know what they want." I was just wondering if anyone else out there has learned this to be the case, where in initial discussion, the customer appeared to want one thing, but upon delivery, they really wanted something else. Have any of you learned any tricks of the trade in trying to get to the root of customer needs up front? And what tips you off to this, (i.e. how can you tell when the customer really doesn't know)? Any resources you could point me to for such tactics?

Aaron A. Spearin
ASQ CSSBB
Engineering Six-S'$

"The only constant in life is change." -Bruce Lee

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

When I was a machinist, my motto was "I don't give you want you want. I give you what you ask for".

This is why there are product specs and contracts.

I generally find that the customer wants his <--<<< *gender neutral* project to be the only project you work on, to have it 110% perfect AND to pay nothing for it and any changes he <--<<< *gender neutral, again* makes to it... TheTick has it correctly stated, as well.

The best way to test something is to squeeze it, slowly, until it breaks!

For contract work, that's great. I'm dealing with non-contract, no obligation type of work, where if I want to make a sale, I need the "REAL" requirements, despite whatever the (potential) customer tells me.

Aaron A. Spearin
ASQ CSSBB
Engineering Six-S'$

I try to take good notes that I can refer to when I discuss issues. If the customer is adamant about being right regardless what my notes say, I likely will not do work for that person again or raise my rates to encourage that person to look for someone else.