First Principles Fluid Pumping Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

SwinnyGG

Mechanical
Jan 22, 2016
US
Howdy gents,

I'm a mechanical engineer but pumps and fluid power systems are not my forte.

I've got a problem I'm trying to solve and I've done some calculation, and think I know the answer, but I'm looking for a sanity check.

I have two tanks - tank A is roughly 800,000 gallons, and is roughly 30 feet tall. Tank B is roughly 3 million gallons, and is roughly 55 feet tall. Both tanks have nozzles in the lid, and a nozzle 3 feet above the tank bottom. Both tank foundations are the same elevation, and the tanks are roughly 20 feet apart (20 feet of pipe run between tanks, so when I do math I don't worry about the losses in the pipe too much).

I need to fill tank B from tank A as quickly as possible. Assume tank A is full, and I open valves between the two and allow gravity to drive water to equilibrium (tanks are self-venting and will equalize).

Question is- once I start having to pump water into tank B, which of the two options is faster:

1) Run the pump output up the side of the tank and dump in from the top. Pump will be continuously pumping against approximately 55 feet of head.

2) Connect the pump to a nozzle 3 feet above the bottom of the tank. Pump head will start out near zero downstream head, which will increase in a linear fashion as the water level rises in tank B.

Question is... is the simple 'downstream head is all that matters' principle actually correct? Does the volume of water downstream of the pump play a factor at all in the load on the pump, or is it simply the difference between height of the pump and the height of the water level downstream?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

TBH this forum is usually about high pressure hydraulic oil ands would be better in the pipelines, piing and fluid mechnics forum next time.

But anyway, your question.