Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

floor w/ and w/o units gives different results

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jwouters

Mechanical
Feb 19, 2009
NL
Hi all, I'm pretty new to Mathcad (I'm still young ;)), but I have run across a pretty weird problem. I did try google/help/eng-tips without any luck.

I think my problem is best explained in the attached file but here it is:

My 'goal' is to floor a division incluing units m/mm. In my example, I divide 12.75m by 1275mm which should result in 10. But Mathcad actually return 9.99....998. 'flooring' this number would result in 9, where 10 is expected.

When I try to floor(12750/1275) I get 10, as expected.

I would like to know if there is any solution to this problem or if I'm just stuck with this error.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It's not an "error," i.e., it's a fundamental limitation of using binary floating point to represent decimal numbers. Your examples are not equivalent calculations.

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss

Again, the with-units and without-units calculations are not equivalent. Mathcad casts all quantities with units into an internal SI representation. Nonetheless, if you divide 12.75 by 1275*10^-3, you'll get something less than 10, and will do so for any variation where the exponent is nonzero.

BTW, my help for floor(z) states "greatest integer <=z"

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss

AS IRstuff says, when you create expressions with units, Mathcad converts all units into their SI equivalents (as floating point numbers), and it also converts all numeric terms into floating point numbers (whether written as integers or floating point numbers). Thus the expression which is entered as:

(12.75 m) / (1275 mm)

is actually calculated internally as something like: