Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Forces in a Wirecam span

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hakon K

Structural
Oct 23, 2023
NO
I am not a qualified engineer or anything like that, just a guy working as Rigging Grip in Broadcast, and we have a Wirecam system. The Sled and camera is powered by batteries, and operates and transmits by radio - a moving trolley/dolly/wagon so to say. We rig 2 ropes for safety, the Sled has a traction motor on the bottom line, and a bracket with pulleywheels for the top line.

Gear is Dactylcam pro 48V /Newton2 gimbal /Sony P50, line is 10mm Dyneema SK99 MBS 7500kg.

* Total weight of sled and camera is approx 44 kgs
* Weight of line is approx 80g/m
* Span can be from 25 to 600 meters, deflection depends on where we can rig our points, and how much force we are allowed to pull.
* We regularly pull up to 500 kgs on each line for a max total of 1 metric tonne. But some arenas and scenarios requires less, or allow less.
* To simplify I have not included the added weight of wirejacks + loadcell on one end, and shackles + slings on both ends. Also for simplicity both anchor points are at the same height, and the camera is in centre where the load is highest.

I have made a spreadsheet to the best of my ability, but I am not experienced with Excel and my education in maths is very slight, also ...three decades ago. To add the forces from the weight of the line to the centre load (in my simple pythagoras), feels wrong to me - as the line is distributed weight, but camera + sled is centre weight. And I am also struggling slightly with getting the math right when adding the second line to the equation, as it then takes half the centre weight. Right?

The spreadsheet has two parts, so I can input either: