Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Gaming Pads?

Status
Not open for further replies.

IAMIS

Mechanical
Aug 31, 2000
US
I had been thinking about trying a new device since my Space Navigator wasn't getting much use due to the lack of enough buttons. I had seen a slew of devices discussed and the Belkin n52te was mentioned. So when it came on sale at WOOT.com for $35 shipped I jumped at it. Is anyone out there using these currently? If so have you worked out a key assignment profile that works well for you? It would be nice to try one that has already been tried rather than go the trial and error method of refining the set-up.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm no expert... but I have a gaming pad I used to use with Halo (again, not much experience there either). But I seemed to me that it was just a smaller, specialty shaped keyboard. I'm guessing you'll have to figure out what keystrokes your game pad emulates, then assign a short cut to that keystroke. Then you get to memorize where the commads are on your game pad. So why not just create the keyboard shortcuts and use the keyboard as-is? Do you really want another input devise jockeying for space on you desk? Keyboard, mouse, SpaceNavigator, and a game pad too?

Jack L Tate said:
Right-click. It's friggin' magic!
FAQ376

With the gaming pad I don't have to take my eyes off the monitor. I have 59 control triggers under one hand that can be set up to run intuitively. Even just having a left hand number entry pad helps. The only time I need the keyboard is when I have to enter allot of text.