Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Going to the Dark Side 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

brane23

Structural
Feb 7, 2006
I'm an engineer considering a career as an attorney. I like being an engineer and want to use the experience and knowledge to move forward in contract law and expert witnessing. Let's hear it.... any thoughts?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

My heary weeps for your loss of innocence, but I'm pretty sure the money will be better.....

Kevin Hammond

Mechanical Design Engineer
Derbyshire, UK

Law is largely the study of case precednets and applcation of that research to the current case (I took the LSAT's a long time ago, was considering much the same). Coming from a technical background, you probably will have a credence not found in a fresh caught or even always been a lawyer.

The "expert witnessing" part, I assume, would depend more on your knowledge of the engineering subject at hand than on your legal knowledge, so I don't know that it would really be a factor. And in fact, ten years from now, if you haven't worked as an engineer for 10 years, I would think that would hurt your credibility as an expert witness.

Otherwise, it's pretty much whatever floats your boat.

brane23,

I know a guy who is both a lawyer and a professional engineer. I think he works mostly in patent law, where, obviously, he has expertise.

I cannot see a lawyer/engineer being much use as an expert witness. An expert witness ought to have specialized training in his area of expertise, preferably at the graduate level and subject to a lot of peer review. A lawyer/engineer would be a "Jack of all trades, master of none."