Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Google Maps Now Has Ludicrous Speed Driving Mode!

Status
Not open for further replies.

IRstuff

Aerospace
Jun 3, 2002
US
This is actual screenshot of new Google Maps while driving around in OC, showing 9 minutes estimated time to arrive on current route, but alternate route showing 23 minutes FASTER, so not only FTL speed, but traveling backwards in time!

Screenshot_20230710_160350_Maps_zkjlwv.jpg

TTFN (ta ta for now)
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert! faq731-376 forum1529 Entire Forum list

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

A SIX lane motorway!!

Was probably anticipating a crash ahead!

Remember - More details = better answers
Also: If you get a response it's polite to respond to it.

Google time line reported me as going from British Columbia to Manitoba at what worked out to be an average speed of about 7000 MPH. Yes, seven thousand miles per hour.
The return trip was somewhat slower but still several mach numbers.
I never left the city limits of a small city in BC that day.
My longest trip was a couple of miles.

--------------------
Ohm's law
Not just a good idea;
It's the LAW!

I dunno, google can do a lot. Twisting space and time into a pretzel may not be out of their wheelhouse lol.

I have seen some weird things on google maps like it tells me to get off a highway at an exit, stop at the light at the end of the exit, drive straight across the intersection and get back onto the same highway!

It's kind of a theme with artificial intelligence type stuff. It can be really smart but every once in awhile it's really stupid. My wife said that about me once. Actually come to think of it... she left out the really smart part!

A old joke about how to get to Michigan:
Fly or make a wrong turn on the inter-state.
My GPS put me into Michigan twice with poor directions.
That had complications.