Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

HDPE pipe as principal spillway with 10' wide weir (3:1 side slopes) as emergency spillway

Status
Not open for further replies.

BillsSis

Civil/Environmental
Apr 3, 2015
US
hello everyone,
I'm fairly new to the detention pond hydraulics concept but am understanding it so far. A question or two....I've read in some manuals (don't recall specific ones)or books that the user should calculate the weir and orifice equations. Is this for a riser pipe (or box) or is this for the horizontal pipe that would be considered the principal spillway (without riser)? Because the detention pond has both structures (principal and emergency spillways), can I use HEC-HMS to calculate the flow through the detention pond?
Oh, another question...I've also seen a 1' dimension from the emergency spillway. When I put in the elevation for the emergency spillway, do I put in the elevation at this 1' below emergency spillway or do I put in the actual elevation of the emergency spillway?

Thank you!!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Howdy BillsSis - Your outlet will be your design; either weir and/or orifice and/or culvert what ever you so desire. The key is that you have controlling hydraulic calculations to show the maximum head for a specific discharge. A typical outlet, that I design, is a culvert and weir. The culvert alone up to the elevation where the weir kicks in then its combined. In regard to the 1' dimension, that sounds like a freeboard requirement, we treat that below the weir elevation. We typically design our basin on the culvert outlet and the weir to handle the 100-year incluase the culvert gets clogged. Hope that helps.