Help me in pump sizing for cooling tower water circulation 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Asisraja D

Mechanical
Jan 3, 2024
IN
Hello professionals
I am working as a project engineer in a chemical company. We are starting a new project with small pilot plant construction and I will list out the equipments & condensers here. The question is as a project engineer I have got less details from our process engineering group so i want your help to design a pump based on the details I have in my hands so please bear me in this.

Overall reactors :
Reactor MS/SS316 : 1.0 KL - 1 No's (Jacket volume 200 Liters)
Reactor GLR : 1.0 KL - 1 No's (Jacket volume 200 Liters)
Reactor MS/GLR/GMP : 630 L - 1 No's (Jacket volume 160 Liters)
Reactor MS/GLR/GMP : 630 L - 1 No's (Jacket volume 160 Liters)
Reactor SS304/SS316/GMP: 600 L - 1 No's (Jacket volume unknown)
Reactor MS/GLR/GMP : 250 L - 1 No's (Jacket volume unknown)

Overall condensers :
1. SS316 - 4 Sq.Mtr - 2 No's (Box type)(Overall Tube volume for both 24.64 Liters)
2. SS316 - 8 Sq.Mtr - 2 No's (Box type) (Overall tube volume for both 47.52 Liters)
3. Graphite condenser - 6 Sq.Mtr - 3 No's (Block type & utility volume unknown)
4. Graphite condenser - 8 Sq.Mtr - 1 No's (Block type & utility volume unknown)

Cooling towers (150 TR) - 2 No's
Cooling tower-1 for only reactors & condensers
Cooling tower-2 for 20 TR (-10 Deg.C) Brine chiller's condenser cooling purposes.

Header routing is like "L" Shape so consider
length 1 - 21 Meters & Length 2 - 12 meters.

So i have to design two pumps for two cooling towers based on the above details.

sorry for editing the question because it took hard to collect the data from our process team. i will update my planned PFD (Process flow diagram) Soon.

Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Each of those pieces of equipment should have a manufacturer rating for required heat removal, including flowrate and temperature requirements.