Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Help with constant force spring(s) 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

78finn

Industrial
Jun 24, 2008
GB
Hi there,

I am a lowly Industrial Designer :) so please go easy. I'm sure a lot of my terminology will be completely wrong and I am happy to be corrected or advised otherwise, I'm not precious.

I am designing a sit/stand console (medical) that requires a really (REALLY) cheap, but affective counterbalance system that can accomodate circa 60kg of weight and 600mm travel. I have considered the following:

1. Drive motor/threaded bar
2. Gas strut
3. Cable/pulley and counterweight. Counterweight could be several sheets of mild steel plate or concrete I guess.

Motor driven I like but will be too expensive and for my application would require level sensing tech/software. Gas strut not really an option for me, due to travel extension (could consider a lateral expansion cylinder, but gets messy) and de-gassing being an issue over time, which is a BIG negative for my application.

The other option I have been considering is a constant force spring or number of constant force springs. However, I understand how a constant force spring works (at a high level), but what would be a suitable spec given my requirements? Is it possible, what spring would be required and would I need more than one spring given the travel, force requirements and limitations of constant force spring manufacturing techniques?

I have estimated 588N, but I'm not sure of that's right? Would love your help! Please try and explain as you might to small child or a golden retriever :)

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

78finn,