Help With Torque Assumptions 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

CVLDGolf

Aerospace
Jul 9, 2021
US
Hello All,

So I am fairly new to designing electric vehicles and had a few questions.

So I am looking at a motor that specifies peak torque and continuous torque. What determines how long I can operate at peak torque (no times specified by manufacturer)?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It is usually specified in S1-S8 and not easy to understand from just that, it is based om temperatur and cooling times.

image_fjnrmc.png

BR A

“Logic will get you from A to Z; imagination will get you everywhere.“
Albert Einstein

Unfortunately I’m looking at operating the vehicle at fairly low speed and limited room for large differentials so motor rpms will be in the 200-500 range where most motors don’t have data. I was trying to assume some terrible efficiency and calculate rough heat up times based on specific heat and mass.

Unfortunately I’m looking at operating the vehicle at fairly low speed and limited room for large differentials so motor rpms will be in the 200-500 range where most motors don’t have data.
This may be a good time to re=evaluate your design.
By running your motor so far below the published performance curves you are giving away a huge amount of the motor's potential.
Running a 3000 RPM rated motor at 200 RPM may be throwing away over 90% of the motor's potential power.
Consider gear reduction or a different design motor.
Edward Cowern has a formula and description for RMS horsepower loading of a motor with a varying duty cycle.
See the Cowern Papers;
Cowern Papers Download

Bill
--------------------
Ohm's law
Not just a good idea;
It's the LAW!

Lets assume I have maxed out my differential. How would one go about achieving a higher motor speed? Since the wheel speed is just a function of shaft rpm and differential?