Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

High power gear drive 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

MightyGNU

Mechanical
May 29, 2020
US
Hi, I'm new to this forum and not technically an engineer (at least professionally) but I hope you all can help me with this.

I'm building a helicopter, I have a 125hp engine the produces a maximum of about 130 lb/ft of torque at about 5500rpm. I need a 15:1 drive in order to keep the rotor tips subsonic. I've read a lot of documentation from the industry, most notably this nice catalog from Boston Gear ( and I don't understand something. Even large, hardened helical gears (see # HS636L) are only rated for about 15hp at 3600rpm. I'm an auto mechanic, and manual transmissions use similar sized helical spur gears to handle as much as a few thousand hp at 10,000rpm. What's the difference? And how should I go about building this system?

Thanks,
-Dan

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

@mightyGNU
Disclaimer this is flight article.
Where it is a safety issue.
Please consult a licensed Professional engineer. (PE) for the proper design.

Now that is done here is some info.
Guide line
Helicopter gear box is very complicated.
And takes many years of experience.
Even as a qualified designer.
Helicopter gear box has to be compact, light weight, with at least one input shaft. And two out put shafts.
Main rotor and tail rotor.
Gears shafts and gears are special design
To horse power, torque, and RPM.
Gears are designed DIN or AGMA standards.
Material is chosen to the high stress requirements. And are normally carburized
(Case harden gears) that are normally Xtra thin walled and light.yet the gears
Have to with stand the above requirements.
For unlimited cycles.