Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Hippocratic Oath 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nigel

Mar 7, 2000
CA
Should professional engineers take a hippocratic oath.&nbsp;&nbsp;We have a hugh infleuence on the way society is shaped.&nbsp;&nbsp;I think all engineers should do what they do in British Columbia Canada (see FAQ).&nbsp;&nbsp;What do you think? <p>Nigel Waterhouse<br><a href=mailto:n_a_waterhouse@hotmail.com>n_a_waterhouse@hotmail.com</a><br><a href= > </a><br>A licensed aircraft mechanic and graduate engineer. Attended university in England and graduated in 1996. Currenty,living in British Columbia,Canada, working as a design engineer responsible for aircraft mods and STC's.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I am an undergraduate student from Izmir/Turkey. I agree your idea. After the last earthquake in Turkey a large number of NGO's said that engineers are responsible from the casualities. And such ideas like yours have been discussed here too. But no final solution found at all.

Nigel,<br><br>I think you should check out your local chapter of APEGGBC to find out, but when I graduated from U of Alberta, Edmonton I remember taking an oath. Plus in order to get the P. Eng designation you had to write an ethics and engineering law exam.<br><br>I do agree with you on taking an oath. Even though I now work in the States, I am still guided by the oath and obligation to serving mankind through better/safer designs. Engineers must not be out for a buck.