Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

How do you pick your metal floor deck? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

StructEngineer90

Structural
Jul 1, 2019
US
At my previous company, we had always specified 3" composite floor decks in the typical office type buildings. As a young engineer, I never thought to question why 1 1/2" decks were never used.

At my current company, one the engineers has always specified 1 1/2" composite metal decks and only went up to 3" for unique cases. I've asked them why they specify the way they do and their response is basically "that's always the way I've done it".

Another engineer there never specifies composite metal decks and typically defaults to 1 1/2" metal form decks. He basically told me the same thing for his reasons and added that he doesn't trust the composite action of the deck and slab.

The discrepancy is kind of driving me a little crazy. Is this just kind of a case where there is no real "right" answer? Or are there rules of thumb for each type of deck?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

There is definitely some engineering judgement/preference going on, and it can be for any number of reasons. However, unshored/shored construction, general loading requirements, vibration attenuation, and getting your required fire rating are all the typical items that need to be taken into account.

Sometimes 3" deck with 3" topping is sufficient. Other times it makes sense to use 1-1/2" deck with 4-1/2" topping.