Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

How to Prevent Free Student Simulation Software from Becoming “Shelfware” 1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

But, you read the part about vendor-provided education, right? The magic box doesn't know what the right answer is, and unless the student is sufficient competent, more likely than not, the wrong answer comes out. When you look at the totality of questions asked here about ANSYS, or FEA in general, it's pretty clear that such software is in no way able to be a "magic box." The road to the right answer is riddled with potholes containing the wrong answer.

TTFN
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert!
faq731-376 forum1529

I don't know how much software would help at the high school level. As often as I run into people that only understand simulation software as being just a black box, I am skeptical introducing software early will produce better engineers or scientists. In my opinion, you should have a rough idea of what the answer is prior to ever simulating.

However, when student software is first made available, there can be some hurdles to ensuring that students are being taught how to use the software correctly and effectively.

The article completely overlooks the more important issue that teaching "simulation" comes at the cost of loss of teaching the fundamental physical principles that the simulation tools use.

"I don't have to understand it because I can simulate it."

I lost a very good engineering job to a crew of experienced designers armed with Pro-Engineer software.

I have it on good authority that the reduction in payroll cost was actually, specifically, overtly, used as a selling point to justify purchase of the necessary hardware and leasing of the software.