Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Hydraflow Seepage Bed Design

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yakman256

Civil/Environmental
Aug 2, 2013
US
Hey all,

I'm a complete newb to Civil 3D and Hydraflow and I'm trying to design seepage bed and route a storm though it. I put the exfiltration percolation rate in for the contour area only and it gives me a warning that I should be using the wetted perimeter. However, PADEP only allows for infiltration through the bottom of the system only.

Has anybody else been successful at routing a storm through a basin with no surface water discharge? If so do you have any tips or tricks?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It's done routinely in Florida for your first flush, but they don't use Hydraflow to model things down there typically, because (if I recall) Hydraflow can't handle variable tailwater. They commonly use ICPR. I've used XP-SWMM down there. I won't be of much help in coaching you through how to do it in Civil3D, but some other folks around here might. (Francesca maybe?)

Whether you're allowed to count infiltration through the sides of your pond or only your bottom varies by which water management district you're going under, if you're in Florida. I've done some designs in Georgia as well, but our soils aren't near as ideal for it as Florida soils, and our review agencies aren't that sophisticated with reviewing them, typically, so they leave it up to the engineer to establish his design assumptions. I've never done SWM north of the Mason Dixon line.

Protip 1: Get a perc test. Do not under any circumstances trust the soils maps to get you the right infiltration rate. Get several tests done, and get them in the location of your prospective pond.