Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

i need advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

torr73

Industrial
Jan 1, 2007
CA
I'm an Industrial Engineer and planned on pursuing it as a career here in Canada.I have a two-year working experience at a manufacturing company in Taiwan. But I don't know about my chances of getting a job in this field.I have no problems with communication as I can speak English fluently. But I think I need more exposure. Do you think there are a lot of companies who would take me in given my limited experience?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Given the assortment of Alleged Manufacturing En-jin-ears with whom I have tangled, you'd have no trouble getting a job in the US. Of course, here in SoFla, English is not enough; you need to also speak Spanish, to communicate with the workforce. I don't, and that limits my opportunities somewhat.

Your chances are probably better in areas where you share a language with the people doing the work.

As for experience, I'd say you're in a good position. Most outfits here won't take on anyone with zero experience, and won't _pay_ for more than two years' experience.

So, go ahead and highlight your experience on your resume, with bullet points for missions accomplished, and all that rot. The fact that the experience happened outside Canada is not really relevant, so don't treat it like an issue.

Mike Halloran
Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

Hello