Incorrect Nickel Plating Thickness 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

rockey1

Aerospace
Nov 19, 2008
GB
Hi.

My company has recently started silver plating aluminium and after microsectioning a batch of work pieces we have found that the nickel plating layer we have set down before the silver is coming out at a maximum of 16% above our maximum theoretical tollerance.

So. I have set about trying to find out where we have gone wrong. Making our calculations a bit more accurate reduced the error by about 3% and we are now plating a test piece so we can see how much ally comes off with the Nickel when we chemically remove it to try and find out how far the Nickel is getting into the ally to see if we need to alter our plating thickness calc.

My question, to anyone who can help, is "am i missing anything?". I am a newb to this sort of work and am building up my understanding as i go so any help would realy be appreciated.

Kind regards and thanks

Keiven Smith

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I am a little confused on one hand you mention that you are sectioning the test piece and then on the other stripping the nickel off.
The two are obviously very different.
I summize that it was on the cross sectioned part you found the 16% discrepancy!
Are these round pin like components and is that 16% overall or on the one side?
B

belowzero.

Thanks for getting back to me. Sorry if i was unclear.

We make waveguides. Basically just hollow tubes connected together with flanges and joints. We have taken cross sections of various waveguides: 2 accross a flange joint; 2 accross a lap joint on a collar; and 1 cross section through the tube itself, on each waveguide we have tested.