Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Increasing pump life; Reducing Wear 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

kapo84

Mechanical
Jun 4, 2007
US
I am an intern and currently trying to determine a way to decrease the number of rebuilds we have to perform on our pumps annually. I work at a polymetallic mine. I haven't had much experience with pumps before but have learned a lot since I've been here. I have done a lot of calculations on our pump system and have come to a wall. We pump a high density slurry through 4 Warman 6/4 DAH pumps. We get anywhere 100-500 hrs of use out of them before we have to replace the liners/throat bushing/impeller. There are a number of variables that affect the system (tons/hour, particle size, etc...) which can complicate things but I know there is away to fix the problem. We put a man on the moon right?
I'll start by asking what main factors contribute to pump wear? Do I simply look at the characteristics of the slurry coming in or do I focus on the manner in which the pumps are being operated?
Any feedback will be helpful

Thanks in advance

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Saturn 5 rockets were one time use and disposable. I assume you would prefer not to do the same with your pumps, although its kinda' close anyway.

Both.

Keep the operating point within the range shown on the chart you can see at this thread,
thread407-186675

Maybe you can vary the consistancy of your slurry % solid vs % carrier fluid. It may be worth doing some studies on pump life vs specific gravity, pipeline flow characteristics, or the obvious.. abrasiveness of the slurry. You probably suspect what the cause of the problem is there already.