Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Interpreting a negative value of equivalent plastic strain

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodler3D

Mechanical
Jan 20, 2020
US
All,

What could result in a negative value of equivalent plastic strain??

Errors in extrapolating values from the Gauss points to the nodes or simply an elastic response within the VM yield surface? Is there a way to check this? I'm using inventor Nastran, so I can't access data at Gaussian points.

Thank you

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It’s most likely due to extrapolation, maybe you can adjust some results presentation settings in this software.

Just in case, make sure that other output variables are correct.

@FEA way, I'm studying the Kalnin's twice yield method. Since the max alternating stress range is 34 ksi, while the actual yield for SA516-70 is ~38 ksi, is it appropriate to neglect these erroneous values of equivalent plastic strain and assume that the response is wholly elastic?

The calculation of equivalent or effective plastic strain includes squaring the plastic strain (or strain rate) terms. So negative values shouldn't be mathematically possible. Maybe your software has a special meaning for negative values. If not, I would say there's some error and I wouldn't trust the results. I don't like to neglect erroneous values unless I understand where they came from and can convince myself that they don't have any effect on the rest of the answer. Maybe someone with experience using Nastran has more insight.

"it’s better not to ignore results like that" ... they could be a sign of other problems with the model.

another day in paradise, or is paradise one day closer ?