Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

interview question 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

bstones

Mechanical
Nov 10, 2010
US
So yesterday I had interview, everything went well and I was very pleased with the opportunities. I'm still a young engineer, I've been with my company just over 2.5 years but its time to move on. This new job will be my 2nd job out of college so I feel I have some room to haggle. Just as I was being walked out, following the interview, the HR rep had asked me what my current salary was. I felt as though I was being put on the spot and wasn't totally comfortable revealing this info. At this point I gave the information accurately to what I make.

My question is, at this point I'm wondering how to approach this question by not selling myself short of what I could be getting paid. Do I say what I would like to get paid? Or is there an answer to somewhat avoid the topic to discuss at a later date?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I would not sweat over it. What is important is whether not you will accept what they would offer. Ultimately it will be your call. Look at the brighter side, this will also give you an idea if they are cheesy or not. If you think they are making a low offer, do not accept it.

You have the job and they are the one looking for help. You are in position of strength, use it. This is the way to do it.

Good luck with your search!

Rafiq Bulsara

I would never lie or deliberately mislead in an interview. I would agree with what rbulsara said, and either accept/reject/counter whatever offer you get. It would not be in your best interest to get caught in a lie.