Introduction to Piping Flexibility and Stress Analysis as per EN13480 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

tfi

Mechanical
Apr 1, 2024
ES
Hi,

I'm a mechanical engineer and I have very recently moved into a position where I work by myself and I sporadically (~5 times a year) have to ensure compliance of short runs of piping with EN13480 so as to fulfill PED essential safety requirements (steam piping in a boiler room that exceed PS.DN>1000).

I can't find a way to outsource such small work packages (usually up to 20m of pipe, 3 or 4 bends, 2 or 3 flanged valves) so I intend to study so I can attempt to calculate these segments of piping by myself. I understand that EN13480 has a section on a simplified methodology for "hand" calculations.

Is this a reasonable idea?

Is there some sort of guide or handbook for piping design/stress analysis that is oriented towards the PED/EN13480? Or is my only chance to learn by reading and digesting the whole code by myself?

I know there are courses out there, but they cost thousands of dollars which my boss is not paying for and I have no references pertaining to their quality.

Thanks in advance.

Best,

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

ASME B31.1 Also has such a discussion.

Short segments of pipe with a bend or two are easily solved by hand, or Excel methods.
Are there particular configurations, materials, diameters, pressures and temperatures that you expect to work with?

We're here, if you need help.

--Einstein gave the same test to students every year. When asked why he would do something like that, "Because the answers had changed."

In general pipe stress is not something you can just jump into and figure out yourself. There's lot of things to consider, lots of sources, and lots of history. Without proper context its very easy for a "garbage in, garbage out" situation where you say the program says everythings fine! and that's because the support definitions were wrong, load cases not correct, etc.