Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Inventor vs. Solidworks

Status
Not open for further replies.

m_ridzon

Mechanical
Sep 18, 2020
US
I searched around the forum before posting this. I found lots of 10+ year old threads about Inventor vs. Solidworks. My background is CAE (ANSYS), but will soon open a small side gig, doing CAD work. That is, I'll be do 2D and 3D drafting for my customers. To date, I've primarily used the ANSYS embedded CAD tools to build CAE models with my current employer. My experience with Solidworks and Inventor was brief during college. As I plan to purchase a CAD tool for my side gig, I'm curious what feedback folks can share on whether Solidworks or Inventor might be a better option. No, I will not be doing any CAE work with my side gig; strictly CAD.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Usually the choice is between picking the less expensive one or picking the one most of your customers use. Both companies have been around a while; each will have useful and/or annoying characteristics unique to them. It may depend on how much support you expect to need and whether how you purchase it includes that support.

If one was simply better the other would be long gone.

You might also need vaulting/Product Data Management and should include that as part of the cost/effort estimates to implement. Most just use some complex folder scheme to keep the work straight and backed up.

3DDave said:
Usually the choice is between picking the less expensive one
A few sites I found on Google insinuated something similar, indicating they are basically neck-n-neck as far as capabilities and features. Inventor is slightly cheaper. But the main deterrent I found with Inventor is that they do not sell perpetual licenses, while Solidworks does. But I know a lot of software companies nowadays are going to the subscription thing. So maybe the Inventory subscription isn't that big of a deal. ~shoulder shrug~

WindWright said: