IP (ingress protection) requirements for production

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carlloss

Mechanical
Feb 20, 2012
GB
Hi,

I am new to IP rating and currently I try to establish if there is any standard (or other legal document) that would define testing for production parts with assigned IP rating (in order to make sure that the rating is maintained). I do not think that every enclosure is subject to same IP testing as the units used for obtaining certification, yet there must be a way/base for manufacturer to declare that rating is maintained. So far, I found that EN 60529 has a statement: "This standard deals only with enclosures that are in all other respects suitable for their intended use as specified in the relevant product standard and which from the point of view of materials and workmanship ensure that the claimed degree of protection are maintained under the normal conditions of use" Base on this can I not test production enclosures at all as long as I maintain workmanship (bit vague to me) or shall I establish internal quality control process e.g 1 every 100 to be tested? Any thoughts or guidance, maybe there is someone who deals with IP rated parts already. Thank you.

Karol

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Firstly, there is no IP rating "certification". The standard provides a method of test. You use the test and can "self-declare" compliance.

You are free to do so after successfully completing the test on a single sample.

You are free to do so after successfully completing the test on a statistically meaningful number of samples.

You are even free to self-declare compliance based on wishful thinking without testing any sample at all.

Your motivation for testing a statistically meaningful number of samples for "qualification" tests, and for continued quality control and monitoring is your tolerance for the risk and consequences of failure in your production material population.

Carlloss,