Status
Not open for further replies.

freshco

Mechanical
Jun 11, 2012
CA
hello all,

this is my first post,heres my story:

i graduated in 2011 and have been working for the past 6 months at a major contracting company (doing heavy industrial construction)

i want to know is it possible to get into design engineering (with in the EPC companies) with "other experience" or does your first job define you?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

freshco: EPCs should be looking for people like you, with some field experience before they join. As to what they actually are looking for when they hire, I'm the wrong person to ask.

Ok, first, I have no idea what an "EPC" is.

Second, to quote myself from another post on this same forum earlier today:
"I cannot answer for the specifics of your question because I am in a completely different field, but I can tell you this: at only 6 years into your career you have only just begun. It is not too late at all. In fact you have plenty of time to completely change your career several times if you wanted to. In my 30+ years I have worked for large and small manufacturers, large and small consulting firms, insurance companies, and many others. Worked for family owned businesses, large public corporations, small businesses, and myself. I've done product design, facility design, production equipment design, system integration, project management, departmental management, failure analysis, program development, ... I could go on and on. The point is this: follow your heart, your passion. You do not want to look back on your life with regret."

Without having any knowlege on what you do, the original post sounds like you are working for an integration company, and you want to get into the "component" design of the final product.