Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Issues Again With Exploded Views - JohnRBaker PLS HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

oharag11

Mechanical
Jun 18, 2015
US
Again I'm having issues with Exploded Assemblies. I posted another thread - I only got one reponse. It did not help. Attached is a file showing Exploded/Unexploded of the same Arrangement. As you can see certain parts will fly off the part when the assembly is exploded. I deleted and reestablished constraints thinking I was crazy.

This has happened in another assembly - mates go crazy - even parts that are supposed to be suppressed automatically reappear - even though I can not click on them - and they are still suppressed in the tree.

JohnRBaker what is going on here? I'm using NX 7.5. I'm new at NX - and some things are very hard to figure out.

We are supposed to be moving to NX 9 - I hope things work a ton more logically and without issues!!!!

Jerry

http://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=bf349f8e-bcfb-4122-a5d6-653b01666c4b&file=Parts_Move_During_Explode.jpg
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Have you tried to get some help from GTAC as this sounds like a potential problem with the software?

John R. Baker, P.E.
Product 'Evangelist'
Product Engineering Software
Siemens PLM Software Inc.
Digital Factory
Cypress, CA
Siemens PLM:
UG/NX Museum:

To an Engineer, the glass is twice as big as it needs to be.

John

I'm new to UG NX. I have no clue who/what GTAC is. Is this like a VAR? I highly doubt anyone is going to "Fix" NX 7.5. I just can't believe I can not get an answer, nor find anyone else that has this same problem. In the three weeks since I started using NX 7.5 it's happen to me twice.

John,

I also read a forum post where you stated that NX users should never use Reference Sets. I find this hard to believe. First, why are they still around if someone that represents Siemens says you shouldn't use them, and second I see a great need for them.