Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Just to let you know

Status
Not open for further replies.

DonBoyd

Mechanical
Oct 16, 2002
CA
I am an 8 year veteran of Solidworks, I have recently been hired with a company that uses Inventor, I am finding no problems for the most part, But With some of the things I feel I'm missing something here. More Questions to come....
:)

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

100 parts is hardly a large assembly...I work with assemblies in Solidworks with up to 3000 parts. Very little stability issues.

In your opinion, what about the Inventor interface is superior? I've dabbled with it some and it looks like most 3d cad programs. Has a feature tree, dialogues for creating features. Nothing really bad, but nothing revolutionary either.

True Parametrics....please explain?

Jason

UG NX2.02.2 on Win2000 SP3
SolidWorks 2006 SP4.0 on WinXP SP2

Given that it takes at least 3 constraints to fully lock an assembly part into position, 100 parts implies 300 constraints. SW has a well-known and acknowledged "300 mate" limit, after which the assembly file becomes unstable. There are numerous references to this limitation on SW forums over the years. This forces the use of a sub-assembly structure, as a workaround, even in a design that has only one level of assembly in production.

What I appreciate most about Inventor is that it installs in "novice " mode, simple menus and user interface. As a user progresses, more sophisticated facilities are available.

For the veteran user, the Design Accelerators allow true feature-based modeling, as opposed to the traditional "sketch and extrude" methodology of SW amd other mid-range modelers.