Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Lack of relay engineers 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

521AB

Electrical
Jun 23, 2003
CN
One friend of mine on day told me... "do you know why I am replacing all my electromechanical and static relays with the numerical ones?" I answered: "the old ones are broken and you don't get the spare parts, maybe?"
He said "no, no, the old relays are working perfectly. That's not the problem".
"So whay then?", I asked...
"I loose the young engineers if I ask them to take care of plants with old technology. After some months they say 'thank you very much, I go somewhere else, where I can use what I studied for..':"

Ok, I have "painted" it a little bit, but this was the main meaning of the discussion anyway. What is your opinion on that?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I would say that the principles are the same. I guess maybe he is hiring the wrong people. Usually once relays are set, unless there is changes in the plant there is not alot of interfacing with the relays. Testing will be basically the same except that with the newer relays there are more functions in the one relay. So, a relay test engineer should not be concerned whether it is a digital relay or an EM one. He should be looking at the response of the relay to a given input.
The analysis behind setting the relays is the same. So if he is talking about a Relay setting engineer (protection engineer) the math and analysis will be the same. It maybe more fun or easier to set the relay up thru a laptop but it is still setting a relay.

Well, there is not just setting the relay... there is troubleshooting when the relay trips. A lot more info to analyse if you have digital relays and digital fault recorders.... more interesting than just looking at a few flags.

=====================================
Eng-tips forums: The best place on the web for engineering discussions.