Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Leakage class / self-taught female / please help :) thank you 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Allets

Industrial
Dec 22, 2023
RU
Hi Team ! Glad to meet you all and hope I won't disturb you a lot.
I don’t even have a technical education, but I'm in a situation where I was forced to understand the leak class and calculation method myself. I wasted my job vacation for this lol and really hope and beg you to help, thank you ! I believe I'll be able to help with something else too.
I found Standards ANSI/FCI 70-2 1976(R1982) and EN 60534 which regulate this and this is what I got:

Initial data:
Control 2-way valve (regulator), size 3'', flow action: open
P1 = 5 bar
P2 = 2.5 bar / 2.1 bar
Rated CV = 75
Flow rate = 79,68 m3/h (or 70,92 m3/h)
FL: 0,9
Sound level: 85dB (A)
Question: if the Leakage class II is allowable ?

Calculation in accordance with EN 60534 for water:
1. Check for flow restriction
ΔP = P1-P2 = 2.5 bar
ΔPchoked = FL2 x (P1 + 0.99)
ΔPchoked = 0.9² x (5 + 0.99) = 4.8519 bar
Check: If the pressure difference ΔP of the test is smaller than the flow restricted pressure difference ΔPchoked, ΔP is used for the calculation, otherwise use ΔPchoked
So, we use ΔP (2.5 bar)
2. Calculate rated capacity Q [m3/h] in accordance with EN 60534-2-1
Q = CV x √ΔPsizing
Q = 75 x 1.5811 = 118,5825 m3/h

3. Multiply the rated capacity Q by the leakage factor in accordance with EN 60534-4
Factor for Leakage class II is 0.005
118,5825 x 0.005 = 0,5929125

0,5929125 is exactly 0.5% !

And Maximum Leakage Allowable for Leakage class II is not more than 0.5%.
Is Leakage class II is enough for the valve ?

Thank you !

https://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=c9089808-2a28-4b5f-a5eb-81e25a2734e4&file=WP-Leakage-calculation-in-accordance-with-standards-2020.pdf
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I think you are asking if the leakage flow is OK for Class II.