Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Level of detail?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NewOrleansPE

Civil/Environmental
Jun 11, 2008
US
I am new to this field, doing residentail projects, mostly home additions. I'm realizing that most drawings that engineers submit to the city building department for permits are really somewhat vague. Sure, it shows the sizes of beam, rafter, joists, footings,roof plans, plot plans,but's it's all "typical detail drawings"

But I don't not see any nailing schedules, brick joint layouts, exsiting framing looks like, or how it will actually tie in to the existing structure out in the field, Just basic level of detail.

When I questioned this, it was explained to me by another experienced PE, that "you dont want to detail EVERYTHING out b/c you won't be there during contruction to inspect or certify it, you let the contractors handle all the little detials on the actual design of it. They know how to do what they do.He said that my stamp/seal only says that this design meets the code and the general design of the home and only the main important details like beam and footing size. Your plans are not a step-by-step or a "how-to" guide on how to actually build the home."

Has anyone found this to be true also? It's a hard concept to grasp. I guess I'm just new at this, and thought everything had to designed.

It feels like I'm in that movie "Training Day"- with the rookie cop who realizes the system is all screwed up".

It can't REALLY be like this....or... can it?...

Thanks!

New Orleans, P.E.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The end goal of an engineering plan drawing is to convey all of the required information that will allow someone to construct the facility.