Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Line Pack Calculation 10

Status
Not open for further replies.

mb73

Mechanical
Jan 13, 2003
US
Hello All
I am new to this field and am looking for some guidance/suggestions in calculating the appropriate pipe size for specific conditions for natural gas..

Flow Rate 40,000 MSCFD
Length of Pipe: 15 miles
Inlet Pressure: 800 psig
Temp: 60 degF
Downstream pressure: 450 psig
Pipe 12"/stl/X65/0.5" wall
SG Nat gas- 0.6

I used Technical Toolbox and calculated the line pack to be 2954.5MSCFH.
However when using the Weymouth equation in Technical Toolboxes, I am getting a flow for the same size pipe of 4380 MSCFH.

I appreciate your feedback.

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi,
Using the calculator provided you will find that 8" pipe is sufficient, similar results given by George.
Mw =17.4 g/mol; cp/cv =1.27; Z=1 (conservative value)
L=24140 m
Pierre

These are the results of my calculations using the weymouth equation at conditions you indicated. I am not sure what line packing has to do with pressure drop/line sizing calculation that you reference, so this is just based on typical line sizing calcs:

Flow Rate 40,000 MSCFD
Length of Pipe: 15 miles
Inlet Pressure: 800 psig
Temp: 60 degF
SG Nat gas- 0.6

Compressibility Factor 0.82

Pipe 12"/stl/X65/0.5" wall

Resulting Velocity at inlet: 8.8 ft/sec
Resulting dP: 35.3 psi

Pipe 8"/stl/.322" wall

Resulting Velocity at inlet: 19.7 ft/sec
Resulting dP: 302.4 psi

Pipe 6"/stl/.28" wall

Resulting Velocity at inlet: 34.2 ft/sec
Resulting dP: 1308.5 psi

Therefore it looks like the correct line size for the available pressure drop and while still maintaining 60 ft/sec maximum velocity is 8" diameter.