Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Load factors when conducting an elastic-plastic FEA in accordance with EN 1993-1-5 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

julian89

Mechanical
Nov 11, 2013
NO
Hi all,

I have begun to look into performing FEAs in accordance with EN 1993-1-5, and was a bit puzzled by Annex C of this standard which provides the rules. It allows the engineer to use any material model from linear elastic up to full elastic plastic, but does not mention any load factors associated with these models. My background is largely in the world of pressure vessel, and in that world there are distinct load factors associated with the material models one uses (e.g. ASME VIII Div. 2 etc).

Simply put, from what I can read from Cl. C.9 of EN 1993-1-5, we can use any material model, but the load factors and material factors have to be taken into consideration (here it is referred to EN 1990 Annex D which is for testing and has a strong emphasis on statistical approaches etc.).

JRC has released a document titled "COMMENTARY AND WORKED EXAMPLES TO EN 1993-1-5 'PLATED STRUCTURAL ELEMENTS'" (this is readily available on the web), but also here the guidelines are pretty diffuse.

Has anyone here had experience using elastic-plastic FEAs and EN 1993-1-5? What load factors do we use when performing an elastic-plastic analysis?

Snag_21a94ed2_n5ieze.png

Snag_21a95fba_s7i4hl.png

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi Julian

I am no expert in this field but reading the post you have presented it seems to me that the load factors have to be evaluated from actual physical tests however you don’t mention whether or not any information is available in this regard and I presume there isn’t any?
Also the EN specification points you to Annex D which you don't mention.

“Do not worry about your problems with mathematics, I assure you mine are far greater.” Albert Einstein