Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Making Unidirectional Fabric Plies

Status
Not open for further replies.

mapinto121

Materials
Jun 14, 2012
US
Hello,

I am a research student working on fabricating natural fiber composites using jute. Since unidirectional jute fabric is largely unavailable, I have been tasked with making it using jute yarn. However, I have been having some difficulty in successfully making unidirectional fabric that will stay together. So far I have experimented with tightly wrapping the yarn around a glass plate and painting the yarns with epoxy, but the yarns tend to split apart upon removal from the plate.

Does anyone here have any experience making unidirectional fabric from yarn? And if so do you have any suggestions?

Thank you very much for any advice you can give

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

This is typical of unidirectional fabrics. In commercial unidirectionals the minimum number of threads that can hold the fabric together are used.
In your case you have none. So the only thing holding your fabric together is the resin.
B.E.

The good engineer does not need to memorize every formula; he just needs to know where he can find them when he needs them. Old professor