Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Marine differential Check valve? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cmihov

Mechanical
Nov 22, 2010
LV
Good Day!

Im a starting engineer and I was set a task to design a flotation system for an unmanned device that drops to seabed, and has to pop up back to the surface. The flotation system is only engaged when the system has to ascend back to the surface
Now what I started off is 2 scuba airbottles that contain air at 3000psi. Then I have a pressure regulator that brings the pressure down to 150psi. After that I have a solenoid valve that lets the air into the airbags that inflate and increase the displacement of the system. Also a pressure sensor is installed for monitoring the pressure in the airbags. Now the problem is that the airbags can sustain only 3psi, and I need a mechanical check valve, that will monitor the pressure inside the airbags and prevent them from over-inflating. But because the system will be ascending, the surrounding pressure will vary. So my question is, will a check valve (with a cracking pressure of 3psi) work with airbags connected to the inlet of the check valve and the outlet being the surrounding water.

Thanx!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You need a relief valve set to 3 psig. It's not a check valve.

As the bag rises, outside pressure will reduce and the air will try to expand, so to maintain slightly positive buoyancy, you will have to dump air from the bag; just enough and no more. If you don't, you may go ballistic, or, if you dump too much, you'll start sinking again.