Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

[MathCAD 15] Importing AISC Shapes Table and Pulling Properties 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

zach.farley

Structural
Jul 5, 2022
US
Hi all, I'm a total newbie to MathCAD 15 but I am wondering if anyone could provide some guidance on how to insert an Excel file into MathCAD that would then allow me to define a certain cell in that file and have MathCAD return values from other cells. Basically what I am trying to do is link an excel file that I have that lists tons of different steel shapes and their properties. I want to be able to define a member (like W44X335) and have MathCAD return the properties of that member (such as A, d, or Sx). I have tried to import it as a component but honestly I do not understand the input/output parts, which is probably why I cannot get it to work. I have tried to do more research so as to better understand the input/output functions but none of it seems to be dumbed down enough for me lol. I have attached the Excel file that I am trying to link. Thanks for your assistance.

https://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=0b25415f-d6c9-449a-88c1-9f016c9fc09e&file=aisc-shapes-database-v15.0h.xlsx
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Here is what I did for the AISC steel properties.
Screenshot_rdsuk1.png

Thanks so much for your help. I was able to replicate your reply in my own file. Do you know if there is a way to automate the properties part tho? So that it would give me the properties immediately after defining a member rather than having to repeat each vlookup command?