Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Medical Devices: Product Development vs Quality Engineer 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

bonita255

Bioengineer
Feb 1, 2015
US
I graduated college in 2013 with a B.S in Biomedical Engineering. Since then I have worked as a Quality Engineer for a large medical device company dealing with orthopedic devices (think: artificial knee, hip etc).

I am getting to the point when I feel like I should start thinking of my next role (within the same company).
I am having a hard time figuring out if I want to stay in Quality Engineering or if I should look into becoming a Product Development engineer.
I am aware that I would probably have a more difficult time getting a Product Development job since my training in hardcore mechanical engineering is minimal (I had a BME degree not an ME degree, so I have little drafting experience for example).

I want to get your opinions on what the future holds for each role, how required skills differ between the two and the type of "personality" each role is better suited for (specifically for medical devices).

In other words, any tips you may have to help me decide on what I want as my next role would be very much appreciated.

Thank you all for your time.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

bonita255 said:
(I had a BME degree not an ME degree, so I have little drafting experience for example).

I wouldn't let that one hold you back, mose ME grads don't seem to have much drafting experience either. If you can get access to whatever CAD system your company uses and go through the tutorials it probably has, maybe even look up some online tutorials that many of the more popular packages have on Utube etc. then you'll have similar level of CAD skills as most new grads.

Neither of you will have real drafting skills. You could try to familiarize yourself with teh relevant drawing specs but at this point we may be putting the cart ahead of the horse.