Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Metric Conversions 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Davybeano

Structural
Aug 18, 2005
IE
Hey all

I seem to be having some problems converting Imperical units to metric as i am a uk engineer. The problem is to do with Shear in a flat slab.

Allowable Vc=4*sqrt(Fc)*bo*dv

Imperical Units
Vn=102,000lb
fc=4000psi
bo=83in
And the imperical depth for the slab is given as 4.86in

Mertic units
Vn=451kN Conversion factor = 4.448222
fc= 27.576Pa Conversion factor = 6.894757e-3
bo=2108mm Conversion factor = 25.4
Yet my depth is coming out at 10.18mm

I can't seem to figure out the problem
Any help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks in advance
Regards

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I performed a crude metric conversion of the equation

Try Vc = 3.3 EE-4 sqrt(Fc)*bo*dv

dv = Vc/[3.3 EE-4 sqrt(Fc)*bo] in mm

where Vc = 451 KN

fc = 27.576 MPa (your conversion factor was for psi to MPa)

bo = 2108 mm

Check out the unit balance in the original equation

I don't think 4*sqrt(Fc)*bo*dv equals pounds?

lb^0.5 * in * in lb^0.5 * in * in
------------------ = ----------------
(in^2)^0.5 in

= lb^0.5 * in ????????????????

Beggar, check ACI 318 Sec 11.3 and commentary..ACI 318 equation 11-3 is similar to the one posted by Davybeano.

We must not forgert that many of these equations are empirically derived based on research data and mathematical modelling to test validity of data. Often several contants (Davybeano's case the number 4) come into play. Use of and MLT (mass, length, time) units appraoch to check validity thus may not always work.

With d=4.86in, I get Vc=102,048lb=453.9KN.