Mixing Cogeneration and Grid Power?? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

EASIJon

Electrical
Dec 30, 2000
US
Hello,

I have asked another question here recently and received several quick and accurate replies. I am not an engineer, but I do work with industrial companies to implement full-system electrical cost reduction projects. An existing client has a question that I cannot answer. I hope that someone on this board can help.

This customer is a large tile manufacturing facility, and presently they are on interruptible electric rate schedule. In other words, in exchange for low rates the power company can curtail a significant amount of power during periods of peak demand.

They are guaranteed to receive at least enough power for 800 kw but this will still result in quite a few people standing around during a period of curtailment. The facility has the capacity to generate at least 1000 kw of it's own power using natural gas. Presently these generators are only configured to provide emergency power. The plant engineer is interested to utilize this generating capacity to supplement grid power during upcoming periods of curtailment. She has been advised that this will be difficult because the phases, voltage or frequency may not be in sync and would offer potential for damage.

What type of transfer devices would be necessary to combine grid power with power that is generated on site? Is this a costly solution? What are the potential dangers of mixing these two sources of power without some way to balance the phases and match voltage etc.?

I hope that this provides enough information so that we will recieve helpful responses.

Thank you.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Just some thoughts.